Finally

November 8, 2009

Finally, they’ve gotten the health bill through the House. I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve gotten to the point where I could take arguing with my relatives about it any longer. Now, arguing about the climate bill, I could do that all day.

Take my uncle, for example. He’s my antithesis, it seems. Regarding environmental protection, he’d rather scrap it and drill up the coastline. After I point out that he, as a hunter, should be for protection, as dirty water equals dirty meat, he disagrees and says environmentalists are “going nuts.” He then proceeds to throw the San Joaquin valley dust bowl issue at me.

The issue with the valley is that irrigation pumps have been shut of in order to protect the endangered delta smelt. This has caused a dust bowl in the valley and thousands of farmers are out of work because of it. On the other hand, thousands of fishers are having a hard time when the pumps are on because lowered number of smelt equal lower number of salmon. My stance on this issue is in favor of the fishers, because if you plan to farm in an area that is arid, expect it to be dry. Luckily, though, new research seems to show that the smelt may not be as prone to catastrophe as we thought. So this will probably all blow over in the long run.

Perhaps I will take a good look at Limnology, this is fun stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

