Migrated from LJ

November 4, 2009

Alright, well, it’s been awhile since I’ve <i>actually</i> blogged.  But, I feel it may be a good idea to get back into it, so, let’s go.   Migrated this post over from LJ.

I’ve found that since finally gaining my bearings and setting my sites for Pitt that I’ve become less… interested at work.  I’m not putting off my duties or anything but I find myself sitting here and wishing it was 1.5 months later.  Just excited/anxious, I suppose.

I’ve spent the last few days wondering what discipline I want to do.  Dad (an Ecologist) suggested having some ideas of what I want to do, but not committing until after I’ve taken some classes.  Then, once I’ve seen what classes/subjects/professors I like most, commit to those and ask to work in a favorite professor’s lab.  That way I can more easily get my foot in the door when I go on to a MS and working on a thesis.  Not bad.

Some ideas I’m tossing around.  Limnology.  Limnology is a sub-discipline of ecology that focuses on inland waters.  Rivers, bays, ponds, lakes, streams, swamps, marshes, etc.  there are too many to name.  I feel this will be quite an active field in the years to come as we (humans) are doing a damn good job of ruining our waterways.  Plus, the three rivers region of Pennsylvania would be a great place to study this.  Another option is Botany.  Usually when describing an ecosystem, the plants around are used rather than the animals that live there.  So that could be useful.  What else?  Oh, Mycology.  Only because mushrooms are cool and do cool things.  Like break down oil spills.  Though, it seems Pitt doesn’t have a mycology discipline, so I may have to hope there is a professor who is a mycologist that I can study under.

Anyway, this seems like a good stopping point.  Plus, it’s 4 and I need to go to whole food and get supplies for dinner tonight.  Making stuffed squash.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

